Jerry Sampson Award

Jerry Sampson, z”l, was the founding advocate for the Jewish Public Affairs Committee of California. He co-founded JPAC in 1972, making it the first statewide Jewish advocacy organization in the nation.  Jerry served as the JPAC advocate in the State Capitol until his death in 1982.  Though Jerry was known for being a tenacious advocate for public interests, representing clients like JPAC and the United Way, he was also admired from both sides of the aisle for his honesty and integrity.


The Jerry Sampson Award is awarded annually to a California State Legislator who embodies the spirit and dedication to good civic government that Jerry represented and whose leadership and advocacy on behalf of the organized Jewish community’s priority concerns have been exemplary.

Past Award Recipients

2023: The Hon. Toni Atkins (video)

2022: The Hon. Adrin Nazarian (video)

2019: The Hon. Marc Levine

2018: The Hon. Ben Allen

2017: The Hon. Holly Mitchell

2016: The Hon. Fran Pavley

2015: The Hon. Marty Block

2014: The Hon. Nancy Skinner

2013: The Hon. John A. Perez

2012: The Hon. Bob Blumenfield

2011: The Hon. Mike Feuer

2010: The Hon. Mark Leno

2009: The Hon. Karen Bass

2008: The Hon. John Laird

2007: The Hon. Lloyd Levine

2006: The Hon. Rebecca Cohn

2005: No award given

2004: The Hon. Darrell Steinberg

2003: The Hon. Marco Firebaugh

2002: The Hon. Kevin Shelley

2001: The Hon. Bob Hertzberg

2000: The Hon. John Burton