Each year, JPAC member communities sponsor California state legislators’ travel to Israel for a 9-day study trip. Experiencing Israel, most for the first time, it is a unique educational opportunity to learn first-hand about the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the Middle East region. Legislators visit various historical sites and meet with their counterparts in the Israeli government to discuss shared challenges and best practices and to learn about Israeli homeland security and bioterrorism, environmental practices, multiculturalism in education, and the political system, amongst other issues.


Past participants in JPAC’s annual Legislators’ Study Trip to Israel

2011 (December 11-19, 2011)

Speaker of the Assembly John A. Perez

Assemblymember Connie Conway

Assemblymember Katcho Achadjian

Assemblymember Toni Atkins

Assemblymember Susan Bonilla

Assemblymember Steven Bradford

Assemblymember Richard Gordon

Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal

2010 (December 12-20)

Assembly Member Bob Blumenfield (40th)

Assembly Member Betsy Butler (53rd)

Assembly Member Anthony Portantino (44th)

Assembly Member Holly Mitchell (47th)

Senator Bob Huff (29th)

2009 (December 6-15)

Senator Roy Ashburn (18th)

Senator Gloria Negrete McLeod (32nd)

Senator Curren Price (26th)

2008 (December 9-18)

Assembly Member Van Tran (68th)

Assembly Member John A. Pérez (46th)

Assembly Member Paul Krekorian (43rd)

Assembly Member Dave Jones (9th)

Los Angeles City Councilman Tony Cárdenas (6th)

Sacramento City Councilman Kevin McCarty (6th)

2007 (November 7-16)

Assembly Member Mike Feuer (42nd)

Assembly Member Mike Davis (48th)

Assembly Member John Laird (27th)

Assembly Member Jared Huffman (6th)

Assembly Member Joel Anderson (77th)

Assembly Member Ted Lieu (53rd)

Assembly Member Sally Lieber (22nd), Speaker pro Tempore

2006 (December 6-15)

Assembly Member Jean Fuller (32nd)

Assembly Member Chuck DeVore (70th)

Assembly Member Bonnie Garcia (80th)

Santa Barbara County Supervisor Salud Carbajal (1st)

2005 (December 4-14)

Assembly Member John Benoit (64th)

Assembly Member Carol Liu (44th)

Assembly Member Joe Nation (6th)

Assembly Member Fran Pavley (41st)

Senator George Runner (17th)

Assembly Member Sharon Runner (36th)

Senator Joe Simitian (11th)

Assembly Member Todd Spitzer (71st)

2004 (November 14-23)

Senator Sam Annestad

Senator Jim Brulte

Assemblyman Rick Keene

Assemblyman Doug LaMalfa

Assemblyman Lloyd Levine

Assemblyman (now Congressman) Kevin McCarthy

Assemblywoman Cindy Montanez

2003 (November 6-16)

City Attorney Rocky Delgadillo

Councilmember Jack Weiss

Councilmember Alex Padilla

Dates unknown

Cruz Bustamante

Ellen Corbett

Gloria Romero

Antonio Villaraigosa

Jim Battin

Bill Lockyer

Bruce McPherson

Tim Leslie

Kerry Mazzoni

Susan Davis

Kevin Murray

Dick Ackerman

Liz Figueroa

Ray Haynes

Richard Katz

Debra Bowen